Culture / Luodong / Taiwan / Yilan

Splitting Hairs: Womens’ Hairdressers in LuoDong

Five months ago, Luke and I both had what can only be described as a horrendous haircut. Luke left with a square shape accidentally razored into the back of his head, and I had mine hacked at and hideously thinned so it looked like a balding grandma. As a result, I’ve had to wear my hair pinned back for the past five months because the ends were so tatty. Not to mention I was now too scared to walk back into a Taiwanese hairdressers!

However, another foreign teacher we work with who has beautiful long blond hair, got a pretty nice trim at a local salon. So after much angst, I worked up the courage to go and get a cut one lunch break. To my relief and dismay, all went smoothly. I had a wash, condition and an inch cut off to tidy my wrecked bangs, which cost NT$388 (£8.27). A blow-dry and styling is also included in that price, but I politely declined because I didn’t want them to straighten my messy curls.

Before (all tied-up)

BeforeHairdresser

After (the messy way I like it)

100_9499

 

100_9504

Say: In the only relevant Chinese I know, I said: yī diǎn diǎn (a really little bit). One of the hairdressers spoke a little English, but having my haircut by a non-English speaker meant I had the luxury of not having to make tedious small talk!

Ask: Duō shǎo qián? (How much does it cost?)

I don’t know if you have to particularly, but I’m in the habit of always asking what the price will be up front. Up is reasonably priced, but you can get intensive conditioning treatments for a little more moneys.

Unisex Hairdressing: This is a unisex hairdresser, but the only men I saw in there were having those funky, hip Taiwanese styles. I wouldn’t want to vouch for its quality as a barbers, although I’m sure they do a good job depending on what you ask for.

How to get there?

Walk down Gongzheng Road towards the train station. Once you pass the police station on your right, Up hairdressers will be a little further up under the Kavalan Hotel building on your right. You can’t miss its black signboard with a big pair of silver scissors on it.

4 thoughts on “Splitting Hairs: Womens’ Hairdressers in LuoDong

  1. It’s cute! If you’re ever not sure about haircuts in Luodong, there’s tons of places in Taipei, some offer English services and are google-able. I usually go to the same hairdresser (with results I quite like). She also does Lawrence (my husband’s) hair. She can’t speak English at all! But last time I had a cut was totally on a whim and I just cruised into a shop in Zhongxiao Fuxing. First timers usually get a discount as they would like you to become a regular and they aim to impress you on the first go. I was lucky that last time. The hairdresser was Cantonese, from HK, and had passable English.

Leave a Reply

